A park in the dark (songpoem)

what do we know we keep looking out the window

what do we see we see life passing by

what do we do when life ain’t so simple

what do we care we go round and round again

we go round and round my friend…

The door is left open.

She’s strung out on the floor

We haven’t yet spoken

Still my confidence feels broken like a wine glass ‘taxi!’ once more

we’ve got tobacco with no papers

no house above our feet

and a whistle calls out in the darkness but I’m not sure…it sounds like… it sounds like… its stuck, on repeat

should I answer it? and what should I call back to its call? From my place, on this sand stained floor.

I decide to leave it to the hawkers, let them grovel on their knees.

And though the cold it doesn’t grate me

I need no blanket at my feet.

And the world it doesn’t hate me.

still my cough sings on…

what do we know we keep looking out the window

what do we see we see life passing by

what do we do when life ain’t so simple

what do we care we go round and round again

we go round and round my friend…

Her voice floats gently above the music

Sails through the didgeridoo breeze

And a walkie talkie shoutsout ‘warning! warning!’

Policeman trivialities

There’s a palace that’s obstructed by an artificial light

A typical apartment

Our hope omits the fight

what do we know we keep looking out the window

what do we see we see life passing by

what do we do when life ain’t so simple

what do we care we go round and round again

we go round and round my friend

Leave a Reply

